Bangladesh beat up Australia in its own game in 2nd T20I


Modified Aug 5, 2021 9:49 AM IST

comments icon0 Comment
  • In the second T20I, Bangladesh defeated Australia by 5 wickets.
  • Afif Hossain won the ‘Player of the Match’ award for his gritty 37.

Bangladesh recovered from their shaky start to beat Australia by five wickets in the second T20I at Dhaka to go 2-0 up in the five-match series.

This is the first time Bangladesh have beaten Australia in successive games in any format.

read this news- India vs England, 1st Test, Day 1: Hosts collapse to 183 all out in the first Test at Trent Bridge.

it has the opportunity to close out the series on Friday. But both teams would want to adapt better and find a way to get close to that 150 marks. “Losing wickets put a bit of pressure in the dressing room,” said Mahmudullah.

 So his team would be keen on finish strong with the bat. Australia needs to find a way to string a couple of sizeable partnerships. Can’t just be Mitch Marsh vs the opponents.

Bangladesh vs Australia 1st T20I Match Prediction
Bangladesh vs Australia 1st T20I Match

Secret behind the victory of Bangladesh

Lower-order batsman Afif Hossain and Nurul Hasan added an unbeaten 56-run partnership for the sixth wicket and guided Bangladesh to victory. When Bangladesh were 67-5, Australia looked in a good position to level the series despite being restricted to 121-7, but Hossain and Hasan turned the game in the hosts’ favour.

The Tigers reached the finish line in 18.4 overs.

Afif, who hit the winning runs, scored 37 not out, with the help of five fours and one six. Hasan remained unbeaten on 22.

We knew we had to stay calm, keep wickets in hand, Afif said during the post-match presentation.

“Nurul played well so there was no pressure on me either, he added.

Matthew Wade “The bowlers from both teams have done really well. Bowling isn’t the problem for us, got to tidy up with the bat.”

Score in Brief Australia 121-7 in 20 overs (Mitchell Marsh 45, Moises Henriques 30; Mustafizur Rahman 3/23) lost to Bangladesh 123-5 in 18.4 overs (Afif Hossain 37 not out; Ashton Agar 1/17) by five wickets.


Bangladesh (Playing XI): Mohammad Naim, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah(c), Nurul Hasan(w), Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Nasum Ahmed

Australia (Playing XI): Alex Carey, Josh Philippe, Mitchell Marsh, Moises Henriques, Matthew Wade(w/c), Ashton Turner, Ashton Agar, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

The third match of this T20I is going to be played on Friday.