IPL 2020: Top 3 Indian batsmen

IPL 2020 has been near its end. The playoffs stage is done and we are left with only four teams; Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Royal Challengers Bangalore. All the drama, the hype, the excitement, the thrilling encounters have now been left for only four matches. At the end of the playoffs stage, we look at some of the best batting performances by Indian batsmen.

IPL Record

See also: Warner takes SRH to playoffs, KKR out

There have been only three instances when some Indian batsman has won the orange cap award, an award given to the highest run-scorer in the competition. Sachin Tendulkar in 2010, Robin Uthappa in 2014, and Virat Kohli in breathtaking 2016 year. The award has been won by an overseas player in all the rest of the years. However, this season some Indian batsmen have fared better than the overseas players and we look at the top three batsmen that make it to our list.

Number 1: KL Rahul

The top run-getter from the initial part of the IPL. KL Rahul is currently leading the batting chart with 670 runs in 14 games. But his team is out of the competition and he’ll not be adding runs in them in the playoffs and other players have now chance to surpass him to win the award.

KL Rahul has some of the achievements to his name and below are some of them mentioned;

  • Most Runs (670)
  • Highest average (Players who have faced more than 200 balls) (55.83)
  • Highest individual score (132*)
  • Most 50+ scores (6)
KL Rahul is the leading run-scorer of the IPL 2020

A dominant force at the top for the team, who scored in almost every game. Captaining Kings XI Punjab, they narrowly missed the playoffs stage after having several chances to qualify. A remarkable turn-around in the second half of the tournament after losing six out of seven matches at the start.

Number 2: Shikhar Dhawan

Shikhar Dhawan has also performed for the team. He is currently third in the batting charts with 525 runs to his name with two hundreds and three half-centuries to his name. Scored back-to-back hundreds this year, Dhawan is an important member for the team at the top. Opening with his junior partner, Prithvi Shaw, he let Shaw controlled the innings on numerous occasions and let play the supportive role himself.

Shikhar Dhawan has scored back-to-back IPL hundreds this season

Playing his second season with the Delhi Capitals, Shikhar Dhawan has led them to seven wins in nine games. Then, a dip in form had caused four consecutive losses for the team before finally performing in the last group match scoring a decisive half-century to secure a playoff berth. Going into the playoffs, Dhawan has the opportunity to surpass other players to win the orange cap award for this season.

Delhi Capitals will meet Mumbai Indians on November 5 at Dubai in the first qualifier. The winner will head straight into the final, the loser has another opportunity to play with the winner of the eliminator.

Number 3: Devdutt Padikkal

Probably the most unexpected name to make it to the list. Devdutt Padikkal is only 20-years old as is ahead in terms of scoring from the likes of some big names like Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Jos Buttler.  Padikkal has been in top-striking form this IPL. He has scored 472 runs in 14 games and is also the leading run-scorer for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Devdutt Padikkal looks on song this IPL scoring five half-centuries

The left-hander has scored five half-centuries this season and remains the key player for the team. His stay at the crease is crucial as he can go on to score big assisting players like AB de Villiers and Chris Morris to come and have a bang in the end. Devdutt Padikkal also has the opportunity to surpass other players to be the top run-getter in the competition. He remains the strong contender for the “Emerging Player of the Season Award”.

Royal Challengers Bangalore will meet Sunrisers Hyderabad on November 6 in the eliminator. The loser of the match will go home while the winner will then play the loser of the first qualifier to have a shot to go to the final.