IPL 2020: Warner takes SRH to playoffs, KKR out

David Warner has scored his highest score of the IPL 2020 as he led the team to the playoffs in the final group match. Warner with Wriddhiman Saha chased the score of 150 without the loss of any wicket and the team became only the third team to win the match by ten wickets this season. Earlier, SRH bowlers kept the Mumbai batsmen to a fairly low score at a small Sharjah ground. The good bowling from Sandeep Sharma, Jason Holder, and others keep MI to a below-par score.

See also: Dhawan helped DC finished 2nd, RCB also qualified

The 56th match of the IPL 2020 had teams Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad up in front. This happened to be the last group stage match as only four matches are left after that; two qualifiers, one eliminator, and one final. Sunrisers Hyderabad beat Mumbai Indians by ten wickets as David Warner and his men became the fourth and the last team to qualify for the playoffs.

Mumbai Indians innings – Sandeep, Holder once again keep the opposition

Rohit Sharma returned to the team after missing four matches. His inclusion meant that he will open the batting with Quinton de Kock and Ishan Kishan will be placed back into the middle order.

However, it was not the fairytale comeback for Rohit as he was out on just 4 runs by Sandeep Sharma.

Mumbai innings was never going smooth in their 20 overs and David Warner rotated his bowlers well and the bowlers kept on taking wickets. With little cameos from de Kock, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan, the score had reached 115 but six wickets were lost by that time.

It was then Mr. Kieron Pollard stepped up, once again. He had performed well this whole season striking some lusty blows in the back end of the innings. He smashed a quick-fire 41 off 25 balls, an innings that included two fours and four sixes that also included three consecutive sixes in the 19th over to T Natarajan.

Sandeep Sharma has been in top wicket-taking form in powerplays

The innings ended on 149-8. Firstly, it was Sandeep Sharma who dented Mumbai with his swing bowling in the powerplay and when they recovered, it was Shahbaz Nadeem who then started the remaining damage to be done.

Bowlers were impressive. Sandeep Sharma picked up three wickets, while Jason Holder and Shahbaz Nadeem picked up two wickets each at an economical rate. Rashid Khan also got the wicket of Saurabh Tiwary.

Sunrisers Hyderabad innings – Warner, Saha take SRH to playoffs

Sunrisers Hyderabad knowing that they need nothing less than a win. So, they got the win and they win handsomely by ten wickets.

David Warner and Wriddhiman Saha, the openers for SRH made sure that they do the job on their own and the chase was done in the 18th over.

Warner finished not out on 85 runs off 58 balls including ten fours and one six. Saha was not out on 58 runs off 45 balls with seven fours and one six.

David Warner and Wriddhiman Saha won the game by ten wickets

It was Warner’s highest score of this year’s IPL as he looked to got back his form ahead of the playoffs. After his innings of 85*, Warner is now the second-highest run-scorer in the IPL with four half-centuries to his name.

Mumbai had rested Trent Boult and Jasprit Bumrah for their last group stage match and there was nothing much to show for the rest of the bowlers. Dhawal Kulkarni and James Pattinson were brought into the team for Boult and Bumrah but couldn’t able to take any wickets in fact none of the bowlers were able to take any wickets as SRH kicked KKR out of the competition now.

Shahbaz Nadeem, for his figures of 19/2 was the man of the match in the final group match of the IPL 2020.

Man of the Match: Shahbaz Nadeem

Result: Sunrisers Hyderabad win by 10 wickets

Points: Sunrisers Hyderabad 2, Mumbai Indians 0