Another Franchise Cricket League to start in November: Lanka Premier League

Lanka Premier League: Franchised-based cricket leagues are now everywhere. The first to start was the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 and since then, almost every cricket-playing country now has its own cricket league. The leagues around the world are:

  • India – Indian Premier League
  • Australia – Big Bash League
  • England – T20 Blast
  • Pakistan – Pakistan Super League
  • New Zealand – Super Smash
  • South Africa – Mzansi Super League
  • West Indies – Caribbean Premier League
  • Bangladesh – Bangladesh Premier League
  • Afghanistan – Afghanistan Premier League
This year, Sri Lanka will have its own league, Lanka Premier League that will comprise of five teams. The competition was first scheduled to be played in August but now, due to Covid-19, the Sri Lankan government has released the dates and it will be played from November 14 to December 6.

Each squad will have 19 players: six international and thirteen local. The auction will take place on October 1.

Chris Gayle, Daren Sammy, Darren Bravo, Shahid Afridi, Shakib al Hasan, Ravi Bopara, Colin Munro, Vernon Philander, and the surprise 2011 World Cup winner, Munaf Patel are some of the high-profile players that are nominated in the upcoming auction.

There will be 23 matches in the competition and will be played in Dambulla, Pallekele, and Hambantota.

Colombo Lions, Dambulla Hawks, Galle Gladiators, Jaffna Cobras, and Kandy Tuskers are the five teams.

Currently, there is a 14-day quarantine period in Sri Lanka, which the SLC officials are discussing with the government to reduce it to seven days. The Covid-19 situation in Sri Lanka is pretty much under control with not much spread now but there are strict protocols to avoid any unwanted incident.

SLC vice-president Ravin Wickramaratne said, “We’re speaking with the health authorities and the government about this, and hope to have an answer by the end of this week.”