New Zealand deals perfectly with visitors, ends series high

New Zealand have treated West Indies in the most brutal of the manners in their tough tour under the tough Covid-19 circumstances. But it was not a happy outgoing for the visitors as they failed to register even one win and will leave the Australian continent winless.

See also: Will Pucovski Ruled out of 1st Test, Marcus Harris Named as Replacement

West Indies became the first team to tour on multiple occasions in the tough situations of Covid-19 in 2020. Firstly, they toured England in July for a three-match Test series and even managed to win the first Test match. And now they have come for a three-match T20I series and a two-match Test series. They are now flying back home without getting a single win.

T20I Series – New Zealand won the three-match series 2-0

It all started with a strict lockdown imposed by the New Zealand government buy fortunately nothing serious happened as the isolation period was over without any chaos. Then, all men head back to cricket.

The T20I series was a powerhouse with loads of runs all across the two parks used as the venues. The first match was played in the most beautiful of the grounds, Eden Park, Auckland and was a total annihilation of a cricket ball. 359 runs were scored in total in just 31.2 overs. New Zealand emerged as winners after they chased an immense target of 179 in just 16 overs.

New Zealand
Glenn Phillips scored the fastest T20I century for New Zealand

For the second match, the players moved to the Bay Oval, Mount Maunganui. And for the second consecutive occasion, the cricket ball was just the spectator of the ground. Hovered over all across the ground. They amassed 238 runs batting first with Glenn Phillips scoring the fastest century by a New Zealander, a record that was previously held by Colin Munro at the same venue against the same opposition two years earlier. West Indies could not stand a chance and the host won the match comfortably.

The 3rd T20I match was also ready for another high-scoring game but rain has the final say in it. The match had to end in the third over after no game was further possible because of the rain.

New Zealand won the three-match T20I series 2-0.


1st T20I match: New Zealand won by 5 wickets

2nd T20I match: New Zealand won by 72 runs

3rd T20I match: No result due to rain

Man of the Series: Lockie Ferguson

Test Series – New Zealand won the two-match series 2-0

New Zealand, once again proved to be too hot for the visitors as they plundered them and took the series 2-0 having defeated them in both the games with an innings margin.

The series was a crucial as far as New Zealand are concerned as they look to give tough time to Australia and India who are sitting at the top of the points table.

The first Test match was held at the Seddon Park, Hamilton and it took New Zealand to bat only once to force a result. Kane Williamson was the hero of the game. He scored his highest Test score, 251 and the visitors were failed even to score 251 in both the innings. A pretty easy victory for the hosts as the bowlers including Tim Southee, Trent Boult, Kyle Jamieson, and Neil Wagner plundered the West Indies batting line-up.

Kane Williamson scored his highest Test score, 251

For the second match, Kane Williamson was granted the paternity leave as he left to be with his wife. Consequently, Tom Latham was named the captain of the side. This time Henry Nicholls was too much for the visitors. He scored his 6th Test ton and went on to score 174, his best in Tests and New Zealand registered 460 on the scoreboard.

What can happen? An innings defeat was on the card for the tiring visitors and the local boys ensured they return home winless. Bowling out twice, West Indies lost the game by an innings and 12 runs.


1st Test Match: New Zealand won by an innings and 134 runs

2nd Test Match: New Zealand won by an innings and 12 runs

Man of the Series: Kyle Jamieson

New Zealand will now play Pakistan a three-match T20I series and a two-match Test series. The T20I series will start on December 18 with the first T20I match at the Eden Park, Auckland.